Qualifications For Section 8 in Missouri

In recent years, affording a house at the household level has drastically declined for most low-income households in almost every country, including the United States. Affordable housing and housing affordability challenges have an impact on the household’s budget and financial planning. This leaves less to cater to utilities, paying for food, health, transportation to and from work, and childcare expenses, also causing a reduction in savings for retirement, emergencies, and other opportunities, like starting a business and pursuing higher education. These challenges may, therefore, lead to decreased opportunities in life and low quality of life.

Missouri Housing Assistance

Recently, there has been an increase in the public’s awareness of affordable housing and housing affordability. In the United States, for example, in November 2017, the current Secretary of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Ben Carson suggested everyone’s participation in efforts to curb the problem of affordability of rental homes.

The Section 8 program, also known as the Housing choice voucher program, is a federally-funded program. It is run by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) to help low-income, elderly, and disabled residents acquire affordable housing. However, for you to benefit from this program, you have to apply for the vouchers and obtain affordable housing in line with the program’s requirement. Despite the program funded by the department, each state is entitled to the management of its program.

Missouri State is one of the states that benefit from this program for providing ensuring affordable housing to its citizens. Missouri State is located in the Midwestern region of the United States with its section 8 program serving low-income individuals and families. Housing assistance applicants have to meet some qualifications to qualify for the program. Let’s have a look at the requirements for one to be eligible for the section 8 program in the state.

Section 8 eligibility in Missouri

This section 8 housing program isn’t just available to all of the state’s residents. You have to meet some of the basic requirements to qualify for application into this program.

  1. Income limit

For section 8 eligibility in the state, there are income requirements put in place. According to the law, three-fourths of the vouchers should only be given to residents with a household income below 30% of the area’s median income. Often the income limit set by the Public Housing Agency (PHA) stands at 50% of either the country or the metropolitan area’s median household income.

  1. Residency

To qualify for the section 8 program in Missouri, you have to prove to be a resident in the state. This can be done by providing a copy of your Missouri voter’s registration verification, permanent Missouri driver’s license, proof of at least $2,000 Missouri taxable income in the one-year qualifying period.

Applicants are also required to be U.S. citizens. Besides, non-citizens with legal documents can also apply.

  1. Family size

Applicants are also required to have a family as provided by the U.S. Department of Housing and urban development. A family comprises one or more persons.

  1. Criminal record

Applicants are also required to have a clear criminal record of qualifying for the Missouri section 8 housing program.

Apply for Missouri Housing Assistance

To apply for the Missouri section 8 housing program, you are required to contact your area’s Public Housing Agency (PHA). You will then receive necessary guidance from the PHA representatives who will assist with the application process.

Section 8 is a program that benefits both the tenants and landlords. With this housing voucher, tenants can rent apartments and houses in safer areas they would not afford without assistance. Landlords, on the other hand, have a wide range of tenants to choose from, thereby making it easier for them to rent out their properties.